Tags

, , , , ,

I love many moments in life but one moment in particular during my recent trip to Asheville was one o’ a kind.  I was in a cafe, book in hand, and reading.  Now, typical me tends to zone in on other peoples conversations grazing over words never making an actual sentence.  Distractions appear as annoyingly as dust bunnies.

I was quietly seated at The Laughing Seed, ordered my soy latte and strawberry/rhubarb galette.  Vegetarian, farm to table greatness.  There was a nip in the air, I hid my arms under my over sized shirt leaving only enough room to grasp my newly acquired book. Laurie Notaro’s  The Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death, a bag of laughs (no matter who’s around).  I sat, I was chilly and I read.  Each ingestion of warm galette and sinfully smooth latte, I was proud of myself.

A moment most slip into with ease, it’s taken me years to quite myself down enough to enjoy such a time.  A moment to love.

